Hope Bravo from Cheer Athletics

Hope Bravo has been cheering almost since she started walking. Now, ten years later, she's still all about cheerleading. Last season she showed off her fierceness on Cheetahs, Cheer Athletics large limited coed team, and also Jags, their large junior coed team. This year she's still on Jags and also the current small senior world champions Panthers (now competing in medium senior). Even though her double fulls are perfection and she works it out in the dances, it's not always as easy as it looks. Get to know Hope more here!


How old where you when you started cheering and how old are you now?
I was 3 years old and I'm now 13.

What teams have you been on throughout the years?

I started Pop Warner cheer at age 3. I first joined all-star at 4 and was on a showteam and level 2/3 with Waco Cheer Unlimited. My second gym was Austin Cheer Factory and cross-overed on different teams and levels.
Teams I have been on since joining Cheer Athletics are Wonderkatz, Jags, Cheetahs, and now Panthers.



How many hours do you put in on cheerleading every week?

Now that we are attending competitions, I would say anywhere between 12-15 hours because I am on two teams. Most of the time is on Sat/Sun.

What's your favorite part of cheerleading? What's the most fun?
I absolutely love tumbling and pyramid the best. Even though the hours are long, we always make it fun. We go full out a lot but we have fun and love to act silly. Being a member of these two teams is an honor. Great coaches and athletes. Being a member on ANY team at CA is great. Its great knowing we all come from different cities and different gyms but once you step through those doors we are a great big family and support each other no matter what level. I love the team bonding get togethers. Learning traditions and creating new ones. Meeting old friends and making new ones.

Is it stressful being on two teams? How do you handle the pressure at competitionts, being on two of the nations top teams? Do you have any "tradition" or something that you do to calm your nerves?

Sometimes it can be, especially when performance time are so close. Last year I literally started undressing as I was coming off floor to change into next uniform. I didn't get to warm up and ran to line to walk on mat. My mom buys me a Maui Wowi (smoothie drink). I have always had one as long as I've been cheering. It calms me down and gets me hyper again.



What inspires you?

Maddie!! She is a member of Superkatz (special needs team). I LOVE her spirit and determination to learn more and more skills. She is fearless!

Have you been through a tough part in your cheerleading career? What made you "get out" of it?
Last year I was diagnosed with Excessive Lordosis in my back. My back hurt so bad that I thought I had a stress fracture. My doctor said I pretty much needed to build my ab core back up and re-learn my technique when tumbling. It hurts when I do standing tumbling. If you notice I don't do back handsprings in my running passes. I try to avoid them. I have to do privates to re-learn my back handsprings all the time. It takes me longer to learn standing tumbling because I have to make sure I have the technique down or else I will freak out and bail mid tumbling. Also, I grew from 4'8 to 5'4 within like 2 years.

What do you like to do outside cheer? Any other hobbies or something like that?
I am a trampolinist and power tumbler. I train 15 hours a week. I have always loved jumping on trampoline and its amazing that I can compete. I LOVE to read. I pretty much do what any typical teenager does like hangout with friends. My friends understand my schedule and that means so much to me. We always have a great time.

Any goals for the future?
I want to work with children. I want to be an Orthopedic physician or work in rehabilitation. I'm not certain if I'm going to cheer in college. My goal is to make Jr National team for Trampoline and Tumbling and go from there. I'm going Elite after this season. I hope to still be able to do all-star but only one team. I do like the acrobatics and tumbling program. I cheer for my Middle School so its given me a taste of sideline cheering. I like it and it's fun. I'm in 8th grade so I still have a few years to go.



Jags 2010-2011
Hope is doing the last tumbling pass. Multi-talent who can both fly and base!


Cheetahs at Worlds 2011

I've borrowed all pictures from Hope.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

Gud va snygga dräkter Cheetahs har! :D

2011-11-20 @ 22:34:57

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0